The 6th century fortress building contains 2 chapels:

  • The chapel of the Archangel Michael on the top floor, as common in all Coptic fortresses. Whilst the iconostasis bears a date of the 17th century, the chapel is much older;
  • The chapel of St Mina, located beneath the chapel of the Archangel Michael. This chapel which was recently renovated and established as a church by the present abbot His Grace Bishop Yostos, was once used as living quarters for the monks during barbaric raids.

Connecting with the fortress is the administration building which was used in the old days for managing the Monastery’s affairs. The administration building contains 3 churches; 2 of which were established during the leadership of the present bishop and abbot His Grace Bishop Yostos:

  • The chapel of the Virgin Mary, which is the largest and oldest in the fortress. Its beautiful wooden iconostasis dating to the 18th century is inlaid with ivory crosses, and bears the inscription that it was made in the year of the Martyrs 1456. This chapel also contains a beautiful icon of the Virgin Mary painted by a monk of the Monastery, and is dated in the year of the Martyrs 1558. Within the sanctuary is a unique wooden dome;
  • The chapel of St George, which once was a storage room for grain, was recently renovated and established as a church;
  • The chapel of St Abanoub and St Rebecca and her children, also once used as a place for storing grain, was recently renovated and established as a church.

Liturgies are celebrated by the monks daily within all these chapels.